Finnish Doctoral Network for Music Research

The Finnish Doctoral Network for Music Research is comprised of eight universities: University of Arts Helsinki Sibelius Academy and research center History Forum, the University of Helsinki, the Universities of Eastern Finland, Jyväskylä, Oulu, Tampere and Turku, and Åbo Akademi.

The central operating principle of the network is upholding the preceding Doctoral Programme in Music Research (2012–2015), that is, supporting national multidisciplinary research on music and the surrounding cultural reality.

This network does not award doctoral degrees and there are no funded doctoral student positions available in the network itself: all doctoral students within the network are post-graduate students of the partner universities. It exists to further collaboration in doctoral studies and supervision between music research units in Finnish universities.

The doctoral network coordinator History Forum arranges an annual seminar, Autumn School, and application announcement for attendances will be announced on the mailing list during spring term.

The graduate school director is Professor Anne Kauppala from University of Arts Helsinki Sibelius Academy. Further information on the practicalities of the doctoral programme is available from coordinator Nuppu Koivisto (