Nimetön Sites - sisältöblokki kuvalla
Untitled Sites - sisältöblokki kuvalla

Finnish Doctoral Network for Music Research


The Finnish Doctoral Network for Music Research is comprised of eight universities: Sibelius Academy, the University of Helsinki, the Universities of Eastern Finland, Jyväskylä, Oulu, Tampere and Turku, and Åbo Akademi.

The central operating principle of the network is upholding the preceding Doctoral Programme in Music Research (2012–2015), that is, supporting national multidisciplinary research on music and the surrounding cultural reality.

NOTE: This network does not award doctoral degrees. It exists to further collaboration in doctoral studies and supervision between music research units in Finnish universities. If you are interested in doctoral studies in Finland, kindly contact the professor(s) working in university department(s) that appear most suitable for your topic and approach.Also, there are no funded doctoral student positions available in the network itself: all doctoral students within the network are post-graduate students of the partner universities.

null Changes in the network's executive group and other news

In the beginning of 2021, some changes in the Finnish Doctoral Network for Music Research’s executive group have taken place. As our long-term chair, Professor Anne Kauppala, has left the chair’s position in the beginning of January, Professor Markus Mantere (University of the Arts Helsinki) has started chairing the executive group. In addition, we now have new representants for the Universities of Helsinki and Jyväskylä: Professor Susanna Välimäki (instead of University Lecturer Juha Torvinen) and University Lecturer Henna-Riikka Peltola (instead of Professor Suvi Saarikallio). We thank all the outgoing representants for seamless collaboration and warmly welcome our new members to the group.

At this point, we would also like to remind everyone about the network’s Autumn (Winter) School, which will take place online via Zoom on February 17–19, 2021. More detailed information on the programme and other practicalities will be available right after the executive group’s next meeting (January 15). However, professor Juniper Hill (musicology, Universität Würzburg) and research funding expert Tiia Saarinen (University of the Arts Helsinki) have already agreed to give keynote talks at the event. I would also like to remind those of you presenting their work at the Winter School that we kindly ask everyone to send us their papers (max. 20 pages) at least two weeks prior to the event (, so that the other participants will have a chance to read them with care.