Programme Info

The Finnish Doctoral Network for Music Research

The Finnish Doctoral Network for Music Research is a collaborative network that is comprised of eight universities: Sibelius Academy, the University of Helsinki, the University of Eastern Finland, the University of Jyväskylä, the University of Oulu, the University of Tampere, the University of Turku, and Åbo Akademi.

The programme has no funded doctoral positions at the moment.

The central operating principle of the doctoral network in music research is to conduct multidisciplinary research on music and the surrounding cultural reality. Such research can be applied by taking a purely research-related perspective or it can occur in concert with artistic activities.

Research is critical in terms of theories and methods. It produces new information and fosters a growing understanding of the processes, structures, and cultural conveyance of music and of the cognitive, bodily, and learning-related phenomena that occur at the interface between music and culture.

The doctoral network arranges an annual seminar, Autumn School, and application announcement for attendances will be announced on the mailing list (muto[ät] during spring term.

This doctoral network combines the entire institutional substance of Finnish musical expertise and promotes the field-specific interaction of research and international recognition.

The programme focuses on the following topics:
● Ethnomusicology and music anthropology
● Cognitive research of music and music psychology
● Cultural musicology
● Music history (as a broad concept)
● Research on music performance
● Music theory
● Research on music education
● Media research and music
● Music therapy

The graduate school director is Professor Markus Mantere from Sibelius Academy (University of the Arts). Further information on the practicalities of the doctoral programme is available from Marianne Mieskolainen, marianne.mieskolainen(ät)

Executive group

The network is led by an executive group chaired by Professor Markus Mantere from the network's coordinating university, University of the Arts Helsinki.

Other members of the executive group are

Johannes Brusila, professor (Åbo Akademi, musicology)
Susanna Välimäki, associate professor (University of Helsinki, musicology)
Tarja Rautiainen-Keskustalo, professor (University of Tampere, School of Communication, Media and Theatre)
John Richardson, professor (University of Turku, musicology)
Annika Tammela, university teacher Ph.D., researcher (University of Jyväskylä, musicology)
Pekka Suutari, professor (University of Eastern Finland, Karelian Institute
Kristiina Ilmonen, professor (Sibelius Academy, folk music & MuTri)

The executive group's secretary and communications coordinator is Marianne Mieskolainen ( 

NOTE: this network does not award doctoral degrees. It exists to further collaboration in doctoral studies and supervision between music research units in Finnish universities. If you are interested in doctoral studies in Finland, kindly contact the professor(s) working in university department(s) that appear most suitable for your topic and approach.