Part Two examines the clarinet music from Russia and the Soviet Union between 1917 and 1991 from the view of a performing clarinetist. The exemplary clarinet compositions, performed in the five doctoral concerts, are here situated in a wider context. 

This study addresses particular aspects that are relevant for a contemporary performer rather than aiming at a systematic historical overview. Special attention is devoted to questions of aesthetic qualities and the musical value of these specific clarinet compositions in a contemporary setting. Chapters two through ten each provide a concise contextualization of the repertoire. Chapters three through nine include a performer´s view on the selected compositions, complemented with video excerpts from the doctoral concerts.


Part Two proceeds mainly in chronological order, except for Chapter 4 (Jewish Themes) and Chapter 9 (Emigration), which span the entire period of the Soviet Union on thematic grounds. Part two is divided into the following chapters:

3. Before and around 1917

4. On Jewish Themes in Russian/Soviet Clarinet Music:
Works by Prokofiev, Stillman, Veprik, G. Krein, Weinberg, Senderey and Dorfman

5. Under Stalin (ca.1928/29–1953):
Works by Khachaturian, Krein and Ustvolskaya

6. The "Thaw" (ca.1954–1964):
Work by Lokshin

7. "Stagnation Period" (ca.1965–1984):
Works by Artyomov, Denisov, Firsova and Frid

8. Perestroika (ca.1985–1991):
Works by Denisov, Tarnopolsky, Kasparov, Rayeva, Tishchenko, Podgaits and

9. Emigré Composers:
Works by Lourié, Agopov and Tchemberdji

10. After 1991